The Martin Luther King Jr.

Monument Committee Members

"Our loyalties must transcend our race, our tribe, our class and our nation."

Clifton Arrington
Crystal Brown
Patrick Hatchel
Carol Baugh
Patricia White
Eve Clyburn
Janice Johnson
Joann Pearson Collins

Al Stawsky
Alex McLucas
Vera Stokes
Fred Johnson
Beverly Johnson
Barbara Giarmo
Jeannette Curtis-Rideau
Michael Rideau

Gerald Buggs
Lynda Seward
Shelly Washington
Edna Dismus
Marcia Pinkett-Heller
Barbra Landberg
Wanda Pendelton
Wayne Hamer
Clara Williams

The Bergen County Martin Luther King Jr. Monument Committee was established in 2010 by a group of concerned and dedicated Bergen County residents whose goal is to build a public monument honoring the memory and legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. The committee is co-chaired by Arnold Brown and Theodora Lacey, who personally knew Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and were active in the civil rights movement. The Committee has raised over $250,000 to complete Phase I of the monument project. You can help us complete Phase II by making a donation or buying a sponsorship; your support is kindly appreciated.

Our Mission: To commemorate the legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and to inspire future generations to continue his quest for peace, justice, and equality.

Our Vision: The African American Advisory Committee to the Bergen County Executive Kathleen Donovan, and the Board of Chosen Freeholders desire to commemorate the life and legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. with the erection of a life size bronze monument of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. on the Hackensack River Pathway as it crosses the Fairleigh Dickinson University Campus in Hackensack, NJ.

Our focus is striving to keep the Dream alive by encouraging the development of leadership skills, educational excellence and integrity. To this end, scholarships will be given to our youth in recognition of their participation in helping to fulfill the dream.


Honorary Chairs

Dr. Mark J. Wade, MD
Dr. Mayra Suero-Wade, DDS
Mr. & Mrs. Perry Rosenstein, Puffin Foundation
Mary Sue Sweeney Price, Director & CEO, Newark Museum

Committee Co-Chairs

Arnold Brown        Theodora Lacey